Press Releases


Kasich Announces Appointments to the Ohio Collaborative Community-Police Advisory Board

COLUMBUS - Today Governor John R. Kasich announced the following appointments to the Ohio Collaborative Community-Police Advisory Board for a term beginning June 5, 2015:

  • Dir. John T. Born of Lancaster (Fairfield Co.), Ohio Department of Public Safety, ending June 4, 2016;
  • The Hon. Nina Turner of Cleveland (Cuyahoga Co.), former Ohio Senator, ending June 4, 2018;
  • Officer Brian S. Armstead of Akron (Summit Co.), Akron Police Department and member of the Fraternal Order of Police, ending June 4, 2017;
  • Dr. Ronnie Dunn of Cleveland (Cuyahoga Co.), Cleveland State University associate professor, member of the NAACP Criminal Justice Committee, ending June 4, 2018;
  • The Rev. Damon Lynch III of Cincinnati (Hamilton Co.), senior pastor, New Prospect Baptist Church, ending June 4, 2017;
  • The Most Rev. George Murry of Youngstown (Mahoning Co.), Bishop of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Youngstown, ending June 4, 2017;
  • Chief Michael J. Navarre of Toledo (Lucas Co.), currently with the Oregon Police Department, formerly with the Toledo Police Department, member of the Ohio Association of Chiefs of Police, ending June 4, 2017;
  • Hon. Ronald J. O’Brien of Columbus (Franklin Co.), Franklin County Prosecutor, ending June 4, 2016;
  • Sheriff Tom Miller of Brunswick (Medina Co.), member of the Buckeye State Sheriffs’ Association, ending June 4, 2016;
  • Lori Barreras of Columbus (Franklin Co.), member of the Ohio Civil Rights Commission, ending June 4, 2016;
  • Mayor Michael H. Keenan of Dublin, (Franklin Co.), local government representative, ending June 4, 2018;
  • Austin B. Harris of Cincinnati (Hamilton Co.), student at Central State University, ending June 4, 2018;

Ex Officio Members:

  • The Hon. George V. Voinovich of Cleveland (Cuyahoga Co.), former U.S. senator, governor of Ohio and mayor of Cleveland;
  • The Hon. Louis Stokes of Beachwood (Cuyahoga Co.), former member of Congress, Honorary Co-Chair;
  • The Hon. Tom Roberts of Dayton (Montgomery Co.), former Ohio senator, life member of the NAACP;
  • Sen. Cliff K. Hite of Findlay (Hancock Co.), Ohio Senate;
  • Sen. Sandra Williams of Cleveland (Cuyahoga Co.), Ohio Senate;
  • Rep. Tim Derickson of Hanover Twp. (Butler Co.), Ohio House