Press Releases


Kasich Announces Members of Ohio Task Force on Community-Police Relations

First meeting set for January 20 in Cleveland

COLUMBUS - Today Gov. John R. Kasich appointed 18 members to the Ohio Task Force on Community-Police Relations, which he announced in December after a series of incidents in Ohio and around the nation highlighted the challenging situations that exist in too many places between communities and police.

The following appointments were made with terms beginning January 7, 2015 and ending April 30, 2015:

  • The Hon. George V. Voinovich of Cleveland (Cuyahoga Co.), former U.S. senator, governor and mayor of Cleveland, Honorary Co-Chair;
  • The Hon. Louis Stokes of Beachwood (Cuyahoga Co.), former member of Congress, Honorary Co-Chair;
  • The Hon. Eve Stratton of Columbus (Franklin Co.), former Ohio Supreme Court justice, Honorary Co-Chair;
  • Dir. John T. Born of Lancaster (Fairfield Co.), Ohio Department of Public Safety, Chair;
  • The Hon. Nina Turner of Cleveland (Cuyahoga Co.), former Ohio senator, Co-Chair;
  • Officer Brian S. Armstead of Akron (Summit Co.), Akron Police Department and member of the Fraternal Order of Police;
  • Phil Cole of Columbus (Franklin Co.), executive director, Ohio Association of Community Action Agencies;
  • Dr. Ronnie Dunn of Cleveland (Cuyahoga Co.), Cleveland State University associate professor, member of the NAACP Criminal Justice Committee;
  • The Rev. Damon Lynch III of Cincinnati (Hamilton Co.), senior pastor, New Prospect Baptist Church;
  • Bernie Moreno of Westlake (Cuyahoga Co.), president, the Collection Auto Group;
  • Anthony Munoz of Cincinnati (Hamilton Co.), former Cincinnati Bengals football player, member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame;
  • Councilwoman Amy Murray of Cincinnati (Hamilton Co.);
  • The Most Rev. George Murry of Youngstown (Mahoning Co.), Bishop of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Youngstown;
  • Chief Michael J. Navarre of Toledo (Lucas Co.), currently with the Oregon Police Department, formerly with the Toledo Police Department, member of the Ohio Association of Chiefs of Police;
  • The Hon. Ronald J. O'Brien of Columbus (Franklin Co.), Franklin County Prosecutor;
  • Dir. Andre T. Porter of Gahanna (Franklin Co.), Ohio Department of Commerce;
  • Sheriff Vernon P. Stanforth of Washington Court House (Fayette Co.), member of the Buckeye State Sheriffs' Association;
  • The Hon. Tom Roberts of Dayton (Montgomery Co.), former Ohio senator, life member of the NAACP, member of the Ohio Civil Rights Commission;

In addition to these gubernatorial appointments, the members below will serve on the task force, as defined in Kasich's Executive Order.

Additional appointments are possible.

  • Sen. Cliff K. Hite of Findlay (Hancock Co.), Senate President designee
  • Sen. Sandra Williams of Cleveland (Cuyahoga Co.), Senate Minority Leader designee
  • Rep. Tim Derickson of Hanover Twp. (Butler Co.), House Majority designee
  • Rep. Alicia M. Reece of Cincinnati (Hamilton Co.), president, Ohio Legislative Black Caucus, House Minority Leader designee
  • Sara Andrews of Columbus (Franklin Co.), Chief Justice's designee
  • Tannisha D. Bell of Columbus (Franklin Co.), Attorney General's designee

The task force will hold its initial forum on January 20 from 4:30 – 8:30 p.m. at Cleveland State University, Waetjen Auditorium, 2001 Euclid Ave., Cleveland, 44115.

Kasich has asked the task force to issue a report by April 30, 2015 to provide ideas for how communities across the state can build constructive relationships between communities and police that are built on mutual understanding and respect.

In the coming months, the task force will conduct at least four public forums throughout the state to gather input from all Ohioans. Issues the task force is charged with exploring include best community policing practices, law enforcement training, standards for law enforcement interaction with the community, the criminal justice system and community oversight and involvement in law enforcement.

Attached Files